Aaaah, Hatfield again

 

DSCF2333

Hatfield used to be just a name on signposts in London saying “Hatfield and the North” until I got interested in ceramics. Then I started hearing “Are you going to Hatfield this year?” which got me a bit interested

I had been to a few other shows which had gone well but I can’t say were that enjoyable but as so many people were talking about Hatfield I thought I may as well give it a go.

What a revelation! A show which really values the potters who take part. A warm welcome, plenty of keen helpers, our own refreshment tent and a general air of fun, jollity and co-operation.hatfiel

A fabulous, knowledgable crowd of people just coming to see, appreciate and buy ceramics. Wild conversations and laughter combined with good sales made it the most thoroughly enjoyable show I had ever done.

Last year was the last show run by the wonderful Andy and Di McInnes who have grown the show carefully over the year into a slick operation which is still warm, welcoming and great fun. This year it has been taken over by Valentine’s clays though still with a lot of input from Andy and Di.

This year for me has been a strange one as far as work goes; moving house and involvement in a lot of schools and mental health projects severely cut back making time so the last couple of months has been frantic. But nothing will keep me away from this show.

Here’s a sneaky peek at some of the pots I’m taking this time.

DSCF2345 DSCF2350

DSCF2334

DSCF2339

and lots more to come, the second kiln is warming up even as I write ………

 

 

2 thoughts on “Aaaah, Hatfield again

  1. Hatfield, again! I particularly like the black and white pinstripe on it’s terracotta tower! I hope you sell lots! I’m running behind on my building stuff, but I just got a burner running (extremely pleased with the result), first of seven for the drum kiln and two forges!! I don’t know how things are going to work out, but I’m going to be in Borth in December to replace a floor for my sister!

  2. Sorry for the prolonged silence, I’ve been a trifle pre occupied! So far behind making stuff, got in a bit of a panic and made a load of crap in the first kiln, finally got the mojo up and running again. It would be great if you could come over in December with enough time for a visit here.
    I managed to get a place to go to the Venice Biennale in October which has financially curbed plans for another Paris trip, but it’s your turn anyway! x

Leave a Reply

